South Sudan is officially known as the Republic of South Sudan. It is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. The country gained its independence from the Republic of the Sudan in 2011, making it the newest country with widespread recognition. Its capital and largest city is Juba.

South Sudan is bordered by Sudan to the north, Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest and the Central African Republic to the west. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr Al-Jabal, meaning "Mountain Sea".

South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011. It has a population of 12 million, with Christianity as the majority religion.

Welcome to our site! To find more latest news about South Sudan, see the links on…...?


All news